Team USA was robbed of a goal and a win against Slovenia today in their second Group C match of the 2010 FIFA World Cup. In the 85th minute, off a set play, Maurice Edu puts the ball from Landon Donovan into the back of the net. Referee Koman Coulibaly called back the goal on some mysterious foul. After various replays it appears to be a bad call. I for one couldn’t see anything against the US. If there was a foul to be call, it should have been against Slovenia in the box.
As much as I think the goal was good and that the US should have won, the team played poorly in the first half and went down by 2. They should have never put themselves in a situation where the referee was the one that ended up deciding the game.
Was it unfortunate? Yes
Was it a bad call? Yes
Should the US have won? Yes
In the end, the US could have and should have won outright. If they just played the entire game from start to finish, we wouldn’t even be discussing this…